Sweet Corn & Black Bean Salsa

Like so many of my recipes perfect for the summer, this one is low maintenance and doesn’t require much measuring (I eyeball my spices in this recipe, so feel free to do the same).  When making fresh salsas my two primary goals are highlighting the fresh and savory flavors of the raw vegetables and a texture that allows you to taste the beauty of both the individual and combined flavors.  Because all of my salsa ingredients are either from my CSA, from Farmer’s Market, or certified organic I can rely on them to deliver the vibrant and crisp flavors of fresh, in season vegetables.  That leaves the texture up to me, and since I want my salsa to look as good as it tastes, I try to cut everything to roughly the same size as the corn kernels and black beans.

Ingredients
1 green pepper, fine dice
1 and ½ large tomatoes, fine dice (I used one golden tomato and half of large red heirloom tomato)
1 red onion, fine dice
1 can (12 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
2 ears of fresh corn, kernels removed
1 jalapeno, fine dice
Juice of 3 limes
½ tsp cumin
½ tsp chili powder
¼ cup cilantro leaves, chopped
Salt & pepper to taste

Using the corn kernels and the black beans as a guide, dice the pepper, tomato, and onion to roughly the same size.  Mix all of the vegetables together, add the lime juice, cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper.  Mix well, but very gently, and serve with your favorite tortilla chips.  If you’re feeling really adventurous why don’t you try to make your own tortilla chips.  Check out a great recipe here.

Variations:  This recipe originally started out as a Pineapple Black Bean Salsa, but once I tasted the sweetness of this week’s corn swapping it with the pineapple was a no brainer.  Any sweet fruit that’s in season would be a great substitute for the corn.  Now I’ve tried pineapple, mango, strawberry, and nectarine; all have worked out really well.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    It looks delicious. What did you eat with it?

    1. Thanks! Since I made a huge bowl, we ended up having most of it with tortilla chips, but I saved a bit for the next day and had it over (pan) grilled chicken breast marinated with lime and cilantro and quinoa salad (another one of my favorites). Super easy and healthy summer meal—and if you let this salsa sit for a day the flavors get even better!

  2. inherchucks says:

    This looks absolutely divine! Thanks for linking to my homemade chips. They would be a great addition to this lovely salsa. Can’t wait to try it 🙂

  3. Eat too much says:

    Everything looks so fresh and ready to be eaten. I could just imagine this on a crunch tortilla with salsa. Good job.

Leave a Reply

